Brief Definition of “Bayerische Edelreifung”
or Bavarian Double Maturity Method

Flavour comes with time

“Bayerische Edelreifung” or Bavarian double maturity method stands for the finest traditional brewing craftsmanship. After the main fermentation process, vital yeast and fresh brewing wort are added to produce wheat beers made with the “Bayerische Edelreifung”. Without being pasteurised, the beer is then filled into bottles or barrels and allowed to mature for a second time. This is the only way the wonderful aromas and sparkling carbonic acid can fully unfold.

Qualitaet

Bavarian quality

When it comes to the quality of our wheat beers, we make no compromises. The best ingredients, long-standing expertise and above all a passion for Bavarian brewing craftsmanship are the prerequisites for our wheat beers made with the double maturity method, or “Bayerische Edelreifung”.

Doppelte Reifung

Twice-cultivated

After the main fermentation process, vital yeast and fresh brewing wort are added to our wheat beers. They are then filled into bottles or barrels – without pasteurisation – and allowed to mature a second time for up to three weeks in optimal conditions. This refinement is what gives the beer its unique flavour nuances.

Tradition

Traditional family-owned breweries

Wheat beer is their life and their passion! Our family-owned breweries stand for centuries of experience in wheat beer brewing. They pass it on from generation to generation, thus preserving their traditional brewing skills.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Time, brewing craftsmanship and attention to detail

How wheat beer with the double maturity method, or “Bayerische Edelreifung”is made

We are master brewers with a passion for our craft. It is important for us to fully honour traditional Bavarian brewing skills in each and every step of the brewing process. With the best ingredients, time, patience and attention to detail, only wheat beer that has matured to perfection is allowed to leave our breweries. Something you can taste!

Haed Brewer

Hans-Peter Drexler

Vital Yeast
“The Bavarian double maturity method, or “Bayerische Edelreifung” –involves a great deal of traditional craftsmanship and experience. This includes adding vital yeast and fresh brewing wort to the young beer after the main fermentation stage. The extra yeast is the prerequisite for the second maturation after bottling. But before the beer is filled into the bottle or barrel, it is important to know that…”

www.schneider-weisse.de

Haed Brewer

Dr. Stefan Kreisz

Extra Time to Rest
“And this flavour develops after the bottling stage. The beer matures directly in the bottle or barrel under ideal conditions for up to three weeks. This extra rest is very important for the beer’s unique quality. Thanks to this brewing process, beers made with the “Bayerische Edelreifung” develop more flavour nuances and more delicate carbonic acid. This makes wheat beer a true speciality for every beer connoisseur.”

www.erdinger.de

Haed Brewer

Marc Goebel

No Pasteurisation
“…the absence of thermal heat treatment at this point is essential for the quality of beers made with the “Bayerische Edelreifung”. Thanks to the second fermentation process after bottling, there is no need to pasteurise the beer. This gentle and natural brewing process preserves the valuable ingredients and allows them to develop their full flavour.”

www.maisel.com

Bayerische Edelreifung

In der Ruhe liegt der Geschmack

Die Bayerische Edelreifung – zweifach kultiviert, steht für bestes, traditionelles Brauhandwerk. Edelgereiften Weißbieren wird nach der Hauptgärung vitale Hefe und frische Brauwürze zugegeben. Ohne Pasteurisierung werden sie in Flaschen oder Fässer abgefüllt und reifen anschließend in Ruhe ein zweites Mal. Nur so entfalten sich die wunderbaren Aromen und eine herrliche, feinperlige Kohlensäure.

Qualitaet

Bayerische Qualität

Bei der Qualität unserer Weißbiere gehen wir keine Kompromisse ein. Beste Zutaten, langjährige Expertise und vor allem Leidenschaft für die bayerische Brauhandwerkskunst sind die Voraussetzungen für unsere edelgereiften Weißbiere.

Doppelte Reifung

Zweifach kultiviert

Nach der Hauptgärung wird unseren Weißbieren erneut vitale Hefe und frische Brauwürze zugegeben. Im Anschluss werden sie in Flaschen oder Fässer abgefüllt – und zwar ohne Pasteurisierung. Unter optimalen Bedingungen reifen sie bis zu drei Wochen ein zweites Mal. Dank dieser Veredelung entwickeln sich die einzigartigen Geschmacksnuancen.

Tradition

Familienbrauereien mit Tradition

Weißbier ist ihr Leben und ihre Leidenschaft! Unsere Familienbrauereien stehen für jahrhundertealte Erfahrung beim Weißbierbrauen. Diese geben sie von Generation zu Generation weiter und bewahren so die traditionelle Brauhandwerkskunst.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Zeit, Brauhandwerkskunst und Liebe zum Detail

So entsteht edelgereiftes Weißbier

Wir sind Braumeister aus Leidenschaft. Uns ist es wichtig, der traditionellen bayerischen Brauhandwerkskunst in jedem einzelnen Schritt des Brauprozesses vollkommen gerecht zu werden. Mit den besten Zutaten, Zeit, Geduld und der Liebe zum Detail verlässt nur bis zur Vollendung gereiftes Weißbier unsere Brauereien. Das schmeckt man!

Erster Braumeister

Hans-Peter Drexler

Vitale Hefe
„Die Bayerische Edelreifung hat mit sehr viel traditionellem Handwerkswissen und Erfahrung zu tun. Dazu gehört, dass man dem Jungbier nach der Hauptgärung ein weiteres Mal vitale Hefe und frische Brauwürze hinzufügt. Die Extra-Hefe ist die Voraussetzung für die zweite Reifung nach der Abfüllung. Doch bevor es zur Abfüllung kommt, ist es wichtig zu wissen, dass…“

www.schneider-weisse.de

ERSTER BRAUMEISTER

Dr. Stefan Kreisz

Keine Pasteurisierung
„…für die Qualität edelgereifter Biere der Verzicht auf eine thermische Hitzebehandlung an dieser Stelle essenziell ist. Dank der zweiten Gärung nach der Abfüllung ist eine Pasteurisierung des Bieres nicht notwendig. Durch dieses schonende und natürliche Brauverfahren bleiben die wertvollen Inhaltsstoffe erhalten und die Zutaten entfalten ihr volles Aroma.“

www.erdinger.de

ERSTER BRAUMEISTER

Marc Goebel

Extra viel Ruhe
„Und dieses Aroma entsteht nach der Abfüllung. Dann reift das Bier direkt in der Flasche oder im Fass unter idealen Bedingungen bis zu drei Wochen. Dieses Extra an Ruhe ist ganz wichtig für die einzigartige Qualität. Edelgereifte Biere entwickeln dank ihres Brauverfahrens mehr Geschmacksnuancen und eine feinere Kohlensäure. So wird Weißbier zu einer echten Spezialität für jeden Biergenießer.“

www.maisel.com